Minister Moran congratulates award-winning OPW Heritage Sites

6 February 18

Mr. Kevin ‘Boxer’ Moran T.D., Minister of State for the Office of Public Works (OPW) and Flood Relief today congratulated the six heritage sites, all managed by the OPW, on winning their CIE Tours International Awards of Excellence 2017.  The coveted Awards are presented annually by CIE Tours International and are given in recognition of excellence in Irish Tourism.  Award winners are chosen following independent evaluation of CIE Tours customer surveys.

The six OPW heritage sites that are the recipients of the CIE Tours International Awards of Excellence Winners 2017 are: 

  • Brú na Bóinne Visitor Centre, Co. Meath – Gold Award - National Heritage Award
  • Clonmacnoise, Co. Offaly
  • Dún Aonghasa, Aran Island, Co. Galway
  • Glendalough Visitor Centre, Co. Wicklow
  • Kilkenny Castle, Kilkenny
  • Kilmainham Gaol, Dublin

Minister Moran congratulated the six OPW sites; “I’m delighted with the news of the Awards for six of the OPW’s heritage sites.  These awards are a very welcome recognition of the professionalism and dedication of the staff involved and their pursuit of excellence in tourism.  I am proud that the OPW has been recognised as offering a quality experience to visitors and I’m sure we will continue to do so in 2018 and in future years.


For more information, please contact OPW Client Services & Communications at

Follow us on Twitter @opwireland

Find us on Facebook @opwireland