Major Flood Defence Schemes

 Waterford Quays Flood Relief Scheme

Waterford Flood Defence Scheme

OPW Flood Defence Schemes are generally carried out under the Arterial Drainage Act 1945 and the Arterial Drainage Amendment Act 1995, although in recent years some phases of schemes have been carried out by the Local Authorities under the Planning and Development Regulations. The OPW either works in association with the relevant Local Authorities or funds Local Authorities directly to undertake flood defence works. Links to information on certain Flood Defence Schemes are included below.

Bandon Flood Relief Scheme (PDF 139KB)

Clare River Study

Clonakilty Flood Relief Scheme (link to external website)

Clonmel Flood Defence Scheme

Cork - Douglas Flood Relief Scheme (Including Togher Culvert): (link to external website)

Cork -  Glashaboy River (Glanmire/Sallybrook) Flood Relief Scheme: (link to external website)

Cork  - Lower Lee (Cork City) Flood Relief Scheme (including Blackpool and Ballyvolane): (link to external website)

Dunkellin River & Aggard Stream Study

Fermoy Flood Defence Scheme

Galway (South County) Review of the South Galway Flood Study Report

Mallow Flood Defence Scheme

Skibbereen Flood Defence Scheme

Tolka River - Dublin Fingal & Meath - Flood Relief Schemes (PDF 1.2MB)