Major Flood Defence Schemes

 Waterford Quays Flood Relief Scheme

Waterford Flood Defence Scheme

OPW Flood Defence Schemes are generally carried out under the Arterial Drainage Act 1945 and the Arterial Drainage Amendment Act 1995, although in recent years some phases of schemes have been carried out by the Local Authorities under the Planning and Development Regulations. The OPW either works in association with the relevant Local Authorities or funds Local Authorities directly to undertake flood defence works. Links to information on certain Flood Defence Schemes are included below.

Avoca River (Arklow) Drainage Scheme

Ballymakeera / Ballyvourney

Bandon Flood Relief Scheme

Clare River (Claregalway) Flood Relief Scheme

Clonmel Flood Defence Scheme

Crossmolina Flood Relief Scheme

Dunkellin River & Aggard Stream Study

Fermoy Flood Defence Scheme

Galway (South County) Review of the South Galway Flood Study Report

Mallow Flood Defence Scheme

River Mall (Templemore) FRS 

Skibbereen Flood Defence Scheme

Tolka River - Dublin Fingal & Meath - Flood Relief Schemes (PDF 1.2MB)

Tullamore Flood Defence Scheme


Other Flood Relief Schemes

Al River (County Westmeath) Improvements Preliminary Report July 2002 (pdf 207KB)

Derrymullan, Ballinasloe Flood Defence wall report - Oct 2011